Wynn Kent Public Communication Award

To honor Irwin I. "Wynn" Kent, CCA president from 1989-1990, Mr. Kent's son, Ken Kent - Fellow and also a CCA past president - established with family and friends an award in Mr. Kent's name through The Actuarial Foundation.

This award recognizes members of the actuarial profession who have contributed to the public's understanding of financial risk and encouraged more actuaries to engage in these activities. Activities recognized by the award include, but are not limited to: literature, speeches, work with the media, and volunteering and representing the profession in areas outside the actuarial profession.

Who is eligible? Actuaries who have materially contributed to the communication of financial risk and work product of the actuarial profession in some form or media to the public.  Recipients must be a member of a recognized US actuarial professional organization.

How often? May be given annual, based on the nominations received.


  • One thousand dollar ($1,000 US) monetary prize;
  • Recognition plaque;
  • A CCA Annual Meeting registration fee waiver (where the award is presented)

2023 - Cori Uccello

2022 - Dave Gustafson

2021 - Stephen Goss

2020 - Robert J. Rietz

2019 - Carol R. Sears

2016 - Steve Vernon

2015 - Josh Shapiro

2014 - Frederick W. Kilbourne

2013 - Dale H. Yamamoto

2012 - Jim Toole

2011 - Richard S. Foster

2010 - John Bertko

2009 - Vincent Amoroso

2008 - Ronald Gebhardtsbauer

2007 - A. Haeworth Robertson

2006 - Anna M. Rappaport